Multilingual foodlexicon · Know what you eat!

You are here: food/groceriesfishsaltwater fish

The order of Perciformes (zoolologically also called Percomorphi or Acanthopteri) is a large zoological order within fish. It contains 15 suborders and 120 families. Their shared characteristic are two dorsal fins of which one is spiny and the other soft-rayed. Those two dorsal fins are often connected but may be separated as well. Furthermore do fish of this order not have a connection between their gas bladder and intestines.

To the order of Perciformes belong among others:

  • eelpouts
  • Old world silversides
  • barracudas
  • cichlids
  • gunnels
  • surgeonfishes
  • labyrinth fishes
  • wrasses
  • mackerels
  • grey mullets
  • red mullets
  • breams
  • parrot fishes
  • sandlances
  • mudskipper
  • combtooth blenny
  • snapper
  • archer fishes
  • swordfish
  • horse mackerels
  • tuna
  • grouper

↑ top · Index

Follow me @ google+:

↑ top · Index

Ladezeit: 0.005569 Sekunden